More than 1,400 routes climb the hard sandstone cliffs of the New River Gorge, walls 30 to 120 feet tall from the bridge crags to the Endless Wall, and a guide can put you on it with no experience at all. Five services publish prices: three climbing guide services (New River Mountain Guides, Appalachian Mountain Guides and Blue Ridge Mountain Guides) and the two rafting resorts, ACE and Adventures on the Gorge. On September 22, 2026 a half day ran from $99 for an adult on ACE's own crags to $329 for one person with a private Appalachian Mountain Guides instructor, and for a group of four heading into the gorge, per-group pricing works out cheapest.
The guide services side by side
Each company's own price page, checked September 22, 2026. Alphabetical; the order isn't a ranking.
| Service | Half day | Full day | Group size | Minimum age | Also note |
| ACE Adventure Resort 800-787-3982 | $99 adult, $89 youth; 3.5 hours on ACE's own crags, a 5-minute walk in | $139 adult, $119 youth; 6-8 hours; deli lunch; a 160-foot rappel at Ram's Head or climbing at Bridge Buttress | Not stated | 8 half day; 10 full day | No pregnant guests; full day runs summer and fall |
| Adventures on the Gorge 844-823-2684 | From $165 a person; 4 hours; 275 lb maximum | From $149 a person; 8 hours with lunch; 260 lb maximum | Up to 12, no more than 4 climbers per guide | 8 | Top-rope only; led by New River Mountain Guides instructors; trips usually continue through brief rain |
| Appalachian Mountain Guides 304-719-1779 | Per group: 1 person $329, 2 $369, 3 $399, 4 $439; 5-8 people $599-$689; 9+ $99 each; 3.5-4 hours | Per group: 1 $419, 2 $459, 3 $499, 4 $539; 5-8 $699-$769; 9+ $129 each; 7-8 hours | "All trips are PRIVATE!" | Not stated | Gorge or Meadow River; confirm by phone before booking inside 48 hours |
| Blue Ridge Mountain Guides Not published on the rates page | 1 person $310; 2 people $185 each; 3-6 people $140 each; 4 hours | 1 person $410; 2 people $275 each; 3-6 people $235 each; 8 hours | Up to 6 at the listed rates | "Kid friendly" | 50% deposit, refundable 14 or more days out |
| New River Mountain Guides 304-760-9791 | Price shown only in the booking calendar; 4 hours | Price shown only in the booking calendar; 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. | Private; up to 12 per booking at 1 instructor per 4 | "All ages are welcome" | $200 non-refundable deposit; closed December to February |
River Expeditions also sells guided climbing and rappelling that meets at Water Stone Outdoors; call for its price. Two services claim AMGA bragging rights: New River Mountain Guides calls itself "the only local climbing guide service Accredited by the American Mountain Guide Association," and Blue Ridge Mountain Guides "the oldest AMGA Accredited Business operating at the New River Gorge." The AMGA's own directory will confirm either. Adventures on the Gorge lists its full day from $149 and its half day from $165, with different weight limits, so confirm the figure when you call.
What a guided day costs per person
Group size decides it. Appalachian Mountain Guides charges per group, so four people on a half day pay $439 between them, about $110 each, against $140 each ($560) with Blue Ridge Mountain Guides and at least $165 each ($660) with Adventures on the Gorge. For two people the gap closes: $369 with Appalachian Mountain Guides against $370 with Blue Ridge. A solo climber pays $310 to $329 for a private half day from either.
The cheapest half day on paper is ACE's, $99 an adult and $89 a youth, on ACE's private resort crags, a 5-minute walk in: two rappel lines, 50 to 70 feet tall, and "2-4 hours of climbing," pitched at "newbies, younger kids or folks that just want to try out the sport." For $139, ACE's full day heads into the gorge proper, with a 160-foot rappel at Ram's Head above the Keeney rapids or a day climbing at Bridge Buttress.
Budget for extras. New River Mountain Guides and Appalachian Mountain Guides don't include transport, food or the tip, and New River Mountain Guides asks you to follow in your own car to the crag. Its half-day page suggests a tip of "10-20% of your total trip price," its FAQ "between 15-20%." It also takes a $200 non-refundable deposit, transferable once with 10 days' notice, and charges day-of cancellations in full.
Park rules every guided group climbs under
Every guide quotes the same ratio because the Park Service sets it. The park's climbing group size rules allow up to 15 people including guides at Bridge Buttress, "with a guest-to-guide ratio not to exceed four (4) guests to one (1) guide"; everywhere else the cap is 10, and "Operators are limited to four trips per day park-wide." Guided group climbing needs a park permit whatever the group size, which the NPS permits page prices at $250 a year or $75 for three months for out-of-state groups; the park "is not currently accepting permit requests for installing new climbing routes."
Guides need training of "a minimum of 24 hours of instruction, plus an exam," roughly the AMGA single pitch instructor level, under the park's certification guidelines. The park doesn't publish who holds a commercial permit, so ask your guide service to show you theirs. And skip Grandview, however good those cliffs look: the superintendent's compendium in force since July 1, 2026 says "Recreational rock climbing and rappelling is prohibited at Grandview."
Local habits matter even with a guide. The American Alpine Club's 2025 New River Gorge guidebook notes say stick-clipping the first bolt is expected, climbers should lower rather than rappel from single-pitch anchors, and fixed draws aren't allowed in the park. The Park Service's climbing safety page adds copperheads and timber rattlesnakes, lightning on open cliffs, and blaze orange in hunting season.
Is the New River Gorge good for beginners?
With a guide and a top rope, yes; on your own, it's a tough school. The Park Service's climbing page is blunt: "Most of the routes in the gorge favor the advanced and expert climber. The majority of routes are 5.9 and harder, and most sport routes fall in the 5.10 - 5.12 range." The American Alpine Club sums up the style as "technical, bouldery, puzzle solving, high steps, big pulls, powerful movement," and a climbing coach's blog warns that holds "won't often be incut or very textured," so gym climbers should expect the grades to feel stiff. The geology page explains the rock.
Ready for a first outdoor lead? The American Alpine Club suggests Ferrovieri (5.7 sport), Hippie Dreams (5.7 sport), Mrs. Field's Follies (5.8 sport) and Two Bag Face (5.9 trad). The New River Gorge CVB's climbing guide sorts the crags by style: trad at Junkyard Wall and the Bridge Area, sport at Bubba City, Kaymoor Slabs and Beauty Mountain. West Virginia Explorer notes that crags near the bridge, like Bridge Buttress and Junkyard, "may resemble climbing gyms when crowds are heavy." Not climbing today? You can still look down the length of the Endless Wall cliffs from the rim on the Endless Wall Trail.
How much rock is there? More than a lifetime's worth. The Park Service counts "over 1,400" established climbs on its climbing page and "over 1,600" on its things-to-do page, and the CVB counts "over 3,000" across the region, including the Meadow River and Summersville Lake. Bouldering needs no guide at all: the CVB points to Needleseye Park in Oak Hill (304-469-9541).
When to book a climbing trip
The Park Service's best months are "late April to mid-June, and mid-September to late October," and guide schedules follow the same curve. New River Mountain Guides starts half days at 8:30 a.m. or 1:30 p.m. from May through September and at 10 a.m. in October, November, March and April, and closes December through February. ACE's full-day gorge trip runs summer and fall. Adventures on the Gorge says "Summer is best for warm weather, but the best temperatures for gripping the rock are actually in the spring and fall," and most of its top-roped trips keep going through brief rain.
"October and November are the popular months," a climbing coach's blog says, and October also brings Bridge Day and Gauley season, when a local TV report found gorge traffic and lodging demand can match midsummer. Book the guide and the bed together.
Gear, lake days and where climbers stay
Guides supply the technical gear: New River Mountain Guides includes "ropes, hardware, harnesses, helmets, and climbing shoes," and Adventures on the Gorge includes harness, helmet, shoes and ropes. Heading out without a guide is another story. New River Mountain Guides' FAQ says Water Stone Outdoors rents climbing shoes and crash pads but "No one will rent a harness, ropes, or other hardware." Water Stone (101 East Wiseman Avenue, 304-574-2425) and ACE Adventure Gear (239 North Court Street, 304-574-1900) are the two Fayetteville shops the CVB names for climbers; see the gear shops page.
For something different, Appalachian Mountain Guides climbs from a pontoon on Summersville Lake: a half day costs $599 for one to six guests, and full days are "NOT available on Saturday / Holiday Weekends or Holidays." The Corps of Engineers forbids jumping from cliffs over 6 feet high at the lake, per Summersville Lake State Park.
Climbers' base camp is the American Alpine Club's New River Gorge Campground at 97 Pudds Road, Lansing, open March 27 to November 29, 2026, by reservation, with free showers. Tent sites cost $35 a person a night for non-members and $25 for members, communal sites $15 and $12, van sites $22 and $18, plus tax. The camping guide covers the free Park Service sites. Prefer a real bed after a day on the rock? The map on this page compares places to stay around Fayetteville, and the where-to-stay guide sorts the towns.
Which guide fits your group?
Three or four friends trying real gorge rock for the first time should price Appalachian Mountain Guides first, since its per-group rates beat per-person pricing at that size, then call New River Mountain Guides for a quote, because its prices sit behind a booking calendar. Families with kids of 8 or 9 get the easiest start on ACE's half day on its own crags, which ACE pitches at exactly that crowd. Already booking a resort package? Add Adventures on the Gorge's climb, after asking which of its two prices applies. No source rates any service on safety or reports accident records by company.